Installing Fedora Core 5 with anaconda dmraid support disabled

Anaconda, the Fedora Core installer sometimes makes a real mess when having to deal with raid-capable, but not raid partitions.

For example on my absolutely normal IDE machine it felt my hard drive as a RAID device. At first, I experienced no further problems apart from having my drives called dm1, dm2 instead of hda1, hda2 etc. But the worst thing was yet to come: when kernel series 2.6.17 were introduced, the new kernels didn’t even boot.

That was the point when I decided to reinstall, but this time I started anaconda with the

linux nodmraid

option.

~ by barna on 2006 August 16.

Leave a Reply

 
